Identifying My Remington Rand Typewriter

To make the repairs I needed to figure out what I was dealing with. The case said “Remington Rand” but I had problems finding the serial number. I finally found the serial number on the right side of the frame under the carriage rail:

J1391378

The back pops up easily if you pry it gently from the top

The back pops up easily if you pry it gently from the top

It took me forever to find the serial number

It took me forever to find the serial number

Fortunately, there is an online database of serial numbers for typewriters here:

http://typewriterdatabase.com/remington.227.typewriter-serial-number-database

With this information, I was able to identify the year and model. I had a 1948 Remington Rand KMC. This typewriter features the KMC key – Keyboard Margin Control. I found a very informative blog post in which the author Richard Polt had a type-off between the KMC and a similar Royal:

http://writingball.blogspot.com/2013/06/kmc-vs-kmm.html

Obviously we had a winner.

Diagram of Remington Rand KMC found here.

This is the right side twin of the mystery key - "KMC" clearly printed on it.

This is the right  “KMC” key.

21 thoughts on “Identifying My Remington Rand Typewriter

    • Sounds like yours is a 1947 KMC.

      I love my KMC – such a reliable and satisfying typewriter – I just used it today. It’s as solid as a rock and one of my very favorites.

      Like

    • John Tapp says:

      Are you asking about a tear down involving removing the outer shell? It would be the same on both models. What parts are you wanting to get at? Getting the shell off of one of these critters will involve a pretty major tear down of the whole machine. First, after removing the top and back, you’ll have to remove the cross member below, the four bolts that hold on the back, and to make the whole thing really interesting, the carriage will have to come off. Be sure to secure the spring drum drawband to the plate which will come off later–along with the spring drum itself. You’ll have the machine torn down into six major pieces. After you have found what you were after, you’ll have fun getting her buttoned back up. Long story short, chances are, you might be able to get what you’re after without having to go through all this rigmorole. Take it from a guy who’s been down this rocky road a time or two. Chances are, not knowing what’s wrong with your machine, it might need a bit of cleaning, or a slight adjustment that can be accomplished from underneath, or better yet, from the back or the top.

      Like

  1. Nienke Laane says:

    I’m Nienke Laane, I live in the Netherlands. I want to ask you what you think of this typewriter. Remington Star nr. 11. I would like to sent a foto but I don’t know how. Looking forward to your reaction. My email is: .

    Like

  2. John Tapp says:

    I have a 1947 Remington KMC that was once used by the U. S. Army–Fort Hood, Texas to be exact. It has names carved on the insides of its top and its back–including one from December, 1947! I’m not ABOUT to part with that one–too much soul. I’m gonna use it ’till it runs out of ink.

    Like

Leave a Reply

